The DPSG annual meeting 2024

We are pleased to announce the next Annual Meeting of the DPSG from 5-8 September 2024 in Örebro, Sweden. The deadlines for the applications for the DPSG awards and the abstracts for the meeting can be found here:

DPSG 2024 – Örebro, Sweden


Outline of the DPSG program in Poznan: Click to download.

Registration for the DPSG meeting

The 2024 Joseph Hoet Research Award

The DPSG (Diabetic Pregnancy Study Group) announces the 19th Joseph Hoet Research Award (JHRA) to be given on the occasion of the 56nd Annual Meeting of the Study Group 5-8 September 2024 in Örebro, Sweden.

The award will consist of a diploma-certificate, travel expenses of up to 500 € and paid registration and accommodation. The call for nominations is open on a competitive basis, for excellence of research in the field of Diabetes and Pregnancy, under the following conditions: 

  1. The candidate must be younger than 50 years on 1st January of the year of the award.
  2. There is no restriction concerning the nationality of candidates.
  3. The JHRA will be given in relation to research of excellence in the field of Diabetes and Pregnancy (Basic or Clinical) manifested by publications with important contributions to the advancement of knowledge in the field.
  4. All application documents are to be sent to the Chairperson of the DPSG on or before April 1st, 2023, as attachments to an email. This will include:
    1. The candidate’s Curriculum Vitae with complete bibliography.
    2. The most relevant publications (not more than 6; as .pdf files).
    3. A statement by the candidate, explaining the manner in which the research and the publications have contributed to the advancement of knowledge in the area of Diabetes and Pregnancy. This statement should not exceed 1.000 words. Additional letters of support of relevant authorities in the field of Diabetes and Pregnancy may be also enclosed (.pdf files).
  1. The jury to judge the award will be formed by the five active members of the DPSG Board. Only in exceptional cases, if the jury cannot make a final choice between 2 final candidates with almost identical evaluation, the DPSG Chair’s vote will be decisive.
  2. The recipient of the prize is expected to give the Joseph Hoet Lecture during the annual DPSG meeting, describing his/her most important scientific achievements, and is also expected to write a respective review either as a PowerPoint presentation or as 2-3 pages to be presented on the DPSG home page.

Nominations must be submitted via email to the DPSG secretary Pawel Gutaj ( and DPSG chairperson Ewa Wender-Ozegowska ( by April 1st, 2024.

Read more

Call for the 2024 Jørgen Pedersen Lecture

The Board of the DPSG hereby calls for nomination of candidates for the 2024 Jørgen Pedersen Lecture.

In 1946 Jørgen Pedersen, professor in internal medicine in Copenhagen, opened the Copenhagen Center for Pregnant Women with Diabetes. He was among the first – if not the first – to start seriously looking into the fields of diabetes and pregnancy in a scientific, as well as a clinical, way. Among other things he formulated a hypothesis concerning how maternal hyperglycemia affects the fetus – the so-called “Pedersen Hypothesis”, which still is relevant.

In recognition of Dr. Pedersen’s contributions, each year since 1980, the Board of the DPSG elects an individual to deliver the prestigious Jørgen Pedersen Lecture at the annual meeting.

Criteria for Selection:

  • In recognition of outstanding contributions (including scientific publications and presentations) to the understanding and treatment of diabetes and pregnancy.
  • Nominee will be recognized for national and/or international contributions to the field of diabetes in pregnancy.
  • MD or PhD degree or equivalent.
  • Both DPSG members and non-members are eligible for nomination.


  • Recipient will deliver the Jorgen Pedersen Award Lecture at the 56st annual DPSG meeting in Örebro, September 5th – 8th 2024.
  • Recipient will be asked to write a summary of the lecture for the DPSG newsletter following the meeting.


  • The recipient receives a medal.
  • Award includes travel expenses of up to 1000 €, paid registration and hotel accommodation during the meeting.

Nomination/Submission Process:

  • The candidate may be nominated by any member of a professional scientific society.
  • The winner will be selected by the DPSG Board and informed at the end of May 2023.

Nominations must be submitted via email to the DPSG secretary Paweł Gutaj ( and DPSG chairperson Ewa Wender-Ożegowska ( by April 1st, 2024.

Each nomination must include:

  • A letter of nomination, which should be no more than 400 words.
  • Nominee’s Curriculum Vitae (CV) with career and publication highlights.
  • Nominee’s biography.

List previous of Awardees

Read more